WHO ARE WE ?

Since its creation by Fernande Angers in 2000, the Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir has acquired a certain reputation on the music scene in Quebec and its performances are greatly appreciated by event promoters and spectators.

Lucky enough to have shared the stage with national reknown performers such as Nicoletta, Florence K, Johanne Blouin, Zachary Richard, Vic Vogel, Sylvie Desgroseilliers, Muna Mingole, Mélanie Renaud and Kim Richardson, the Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir was honored to be the guest artist for the show of French Legend Charles Aznavour at the Mondial Choral in June 2009. The choir also participated in several important events like the Rendez-Vous Gospel, Expo Quebec, the Quebec City Summer Festival in July 2009 and 2011, the Quebec Sacred Music Festival, the Rimouski Festi Jazz International, Ottawa's RBC Bluesfest and Quebec television shows such as "En Direct de l'Univers", "C'est Extra!", "Pour le Plaisir", "Les Galas Juste pour Rire 2012", "Salut Bonjour", le "Gala Artis", "On Connait La Chanson", "Bons Baisers de France" et "La Classe de 5e".

In February 2009, the Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir made a brief appearance in New York City, just long enough to thrill thousands of spectators gathered in the beautiful Winter Garden of the World Financial Center, venue of the Pathmark Gospel Choir Competition. The choir totally blew the judges away and caused a major surprise by eclipsing the other ensembles and rising to the first step of the podium, earning the first place and the top prize of $5000.

The Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir was awarded another prestigious title as well as a cash prize of $2500 in June 2010 at the McDonald's Gospelfest Competition. The choir was selected from over 40,000 gospel artists & choirs to participate in the biggest competition of this genre in North America and was lucky enough to emerge as one of the big winners of this major event. First Canadian choir to be a finalist in this prestigious competition, the Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir won in the category Out-of-Town Choir at the Prudential Center in Newark, NJ.

Furthermore, in August 2011, the members of the Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir received the news from GMC TV that they had placed in the 13th top position out of 105 competitors on "AMERICA SINGS "!! Such a thrill for the Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir to have received the opportunity, once again, to proudly represent Quebec and Canada in this new television series produced by the reknown Brad Lachman Productions from Hollywood (Solid Gold, Do not Forget the Lyrics, Christmas in Rockefeller Center)!

The Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir has recorded its first Christmas album, released in November 2011. Produced with the collaboration of reknown musician, Steve Barakatt and Montreal soundman Claude Champagne, the album "NOËL DIVIN" includes a dozen of the most beautiful Christmas songs, the majority in French and some in English, rearranged with a gospel flavor. To accomplish this, the Quebec Celebration Gospel Choir has enlisted the talents of two musicians and arrangers from New York City, whose reputations are second to none in the United States. Michael McElroy and Joseph Joubert were nominated in 2005 at the Grammy Awards gala for the best vocal and instrumental arrangements.

So far, close to 11 million people have viewed one of the videos posted on the very popular internet site YouTube by the Quebec Gospel Celebration Choir. This clip, from one of the choir's live performances, presents the choir with guest star, the great Canadian singer Sylvie Desgroseilliers, in an energizing rendition of the gospel classic "Oh Happy Day!". Even better, the Choir's channel has received more than 15 million visits and the famous video was awarded thousands of kudos and positive comments from YouTube users from all over the world. Quite an accomplishment for this Quebec City choir! The love story that bloomed between the whole world and gospel music has certainly given a major boost to the choir's professional career, allowing it to grow in constant evolution towards true success.

 
contact@gospelcelebration.qc.ca Design by Video 4D © 2010 Quebec Gospel Celebration Choir, all rights reserved.

Qui sommes-nous?

Depuis sa création en 2000 par Fernande Angers, le Choeur Gospel Célébration de Québec a déjà acquis une notoriété certaine sur la scène musicale au Québec et sa réputation d'excellence est reconnue d'emblée par diffuseurs et spectateurs.

En plus d'avoir l'honneur de partager la scène avec des artistes de renom telles que Nicoletta, Florence K, Johanne Blouin, Zachary Richard, Vic Vogel, Sylvie Desgroseilliers, Muna Mingole, Mélanie Renaud et Kim Richardson, le Choeur Gospel Célébration de Québec a été honoré de faire la première partie du spectacle de la légende française Charles Aznavour au Mondial Choral en juin 2009. De plus, le CGCQ a participé à plusieurs grands événements dont notamment les Rendez-Vous Gospel, Expo Québec, le Festival d'été de Québec en juillet 2009 et 2011, le Festival des Musiques Sacrées de Québec, le Festi Jazz International de Rimouski, les émissions de télévision "Salut Bonjour", le "Gala Artis", "On Connait La Chanson", "Bons Baisers de France" et "La Classe de 5e".

En février 2009, le Choeur Gospel Célébration de Québec a fait une brève incursion dans la ville de New York, le temps de faire vibrer les milliers de spectateurs rassemblés à l'intérieur du World Financial Center a Manhattan, temple du "Pathmark Gospel Choir Competition". Seul ensemble représentant le Canada, le choeur en a mis plein la vue aux juges et a causé toute une surprise en éclipsant les autres chorales et en se hissant sur la première marche du podium, se méritant ainsi une bourse de 5000$.

Le Chœur Gospel Célébration de Québec s'est mérité un autre titre encore plus prestigieux ainsi qu'un prix de $2500, en juin 2010, dans le cadre du McDonald's Gospelfest. Le choeur, qui avait été sélectionné parmi plus de 40 000 ensembles et artistes gospel afin de participer au plus important concours de ce genre musical en Amérique du Nord, est ressorti l'un des grands gagnants de cet événement d'envergure. Premier choeur canadien à avoir été choisi finaliste dans cette prestigieuse compétition, le CGCQ a gagné dans la catégorie Out-of-Town Choir au Prudential Center à Newark, NJ.

De plus, en août 2011, la chaîne de télé américaine GMC annonçait aux membres du CGCQ qu'ils s'étaient classés 13e sur 105 compétiteurs lors de la finale de la compétition télévisée "AMERICA SINGS" et que leur participation vidéo, présentée lors de l'épisode du 29 juin dernier, avait été l'une de celles ayant obtenu le plus grand nombre de votes du public! Quel honneur incroyable pour le Choeur Gospel Célébration d'avoir reçu l'opportunité, encore une fois, de représenter fièrement le Québec et le Canada dans cette série télévisée produite par la maison de production hollywoodienne de renom , "BRAD LACHMAN PRODUCTIONS" (Solid Gold, Don't forget the lyrics, Christmas in Rockfeller Center)!

Au cours de l'été 2011, le Chœur Gospel Célébration de Québec a complété l'enregistrement de son premier CD de Noël, lancé en novembre de la même année. Enregistré au Palais Montcalm de Québec en juin dernier et réalisé par le musicien de renom, Steve Barakatt, en symbiose avec l'expertise sonore de Claude Champagne, "NOËL DIVIN" regroupe une douzaine des plus belles chansons de Noël, dont la majorité en français, ont été réarrangées à saveur gospel. Pour ce faire, le Chœur Gospel Célébration a fait appel aux talents de deux musiciens et arrangeurs de New-York dont la réputation n'est plus à faire aux États-Unis, Michael McElroy et Joseph Joubert, sélectionnés en 2005 au gala des Grammy Awards pour les meilleurs arrangements vocaux et instrumentaux.

Jusqu'à ce jour, plus de 12 millions de personnes ont visionné les vidéo-clips du Choeur Gospel Célébration de Québec disponibles sur le populaire site Internet YouTube, ce qui fait de lui le choeur gospel le plus vu au monde sur ce site. L'un des extraits, dévoilant une prestation du choeur en compagnie de la talentueuse Sylvie Desgroseilliers dans une interprétation énergique du classique gospel "Oh Happy Day!", a été visionné près de 7 millions de fois et a reçu, jusqu'à maintenant, des milliers de commentaires d'internautes des quatre coins du monde. Tout un accomplissement pour ce choeur de la Vieille Capitale! L'engouement international pour le gospel permet à la carrière du Choeur Gospel Célébration de connaître un véritable essor et de vivre une évolution sans cesse croissante.

 
contact@gospelcelebration.qc.ca Design par Video 4D © 2010 Choeur Gospel Célébration, tous droits réservés.